Dunland doldrums

Orthanc…already?

I’m in a bit of a rut on the gaming front.  I’m currently playing Lord of the Rings Online and making some progress through the latest expansion, Rise of Isengard, but the content—at least so far—isn’t really keeping my interest.  I consider myself to have a high tolerance for rote quests, but for the past 7 levels (my warden is currently at 72) that’s pretty much all I’ve found to do.  The Dunlendings need my help, and at first I was happy to provide it, but after running countless errands for a third village and now being sent on to the fourth, I’m running out of steam.  To supplement this I’ve been working through the epic story quest, which is a bit more exciting, but even it has left me wanting.

I’m usually a sucker for sidekicks in games.   I was hoping the ability to summon my skirmish soldier in the landscape would add some excitement to the questing, but what I’ve found so far is that almost every quest has been painfully easy to complete solo.  Adding a skirmish soldier makes it almost laughable.

I’ve also been hearing quite a bit of negative feedback concerning LotRO’s next expansion, Riders of Rohan, and how they don’t seem to be offering much bang for your buck with their various preorder options.  This kind of thing doesn’t usually affect me, but this coupled with my less than enthusiastic impression of their current expansion, and I’m finding myself starting to look elsewhere for something to do with my game time.  The mounted combat of Riders of Rohan certainly sounds interesting, but I’m not sure I’m going to be there to find out.  I won’t be preordering the expansion.  That much is for sure. 

Speaking of sidekicks, I’ve just ordered Dragon’s Dogma for the Xbox 360 and am hoping a little change of pace and scenery will give me something to look forward to playing again.

Posted on June 12, 2012, in Dragon's Dogma, Lord of the Rings Online, MMOs. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I myself did like the Dunland quests – I think they made it more interesting than previous areas due to the storyline and layering. It’s not that often that you see the landscape around you change due to what you have done in-game, even if it’s only to a limited degree. I leveled duo with my boyfriend, though, so it probably was a bit faster. We also did some group play in between, which keeps it varied. I can imagine it’s boring if you only quest. We MMO players have had our share of it already.

    Don’t loose hope, I’m having much fun with end-game myself at the moment, and perhaps it will be the same for you, if you’re into such things.

    • Randolph Carter

      Thanks for your comments.

      Contrary to my whining, I’m still questing along through the Gap of Rohan. And to be honest, I can’t say I’m not enjoying myself. I’m not ready to give up yet.

      I’ve really enjoyed my time in LotRO over the years, and I can’t imagine not being a part of Riders of Rohan at some point. I can certainly see how my experience would have been different if I had had someone to quest with through Dunland though.

      Thanks for reading through all my bellyaching.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

