Welcome

What does one do with their very first post? 

I guess I’ll just try and give you an idea of what you’re likely to find here in the future. 

What topics you’ll most likely see discussed  here:

Age of Conan

Video games (with an emphasis on MMOs) –  I tend to like RPGs and find myself mostly playing these.  I play these games almost exclusively solo.  I guess you could say it’s hard to teach an old dog new tricks.  Over the past couple of years I’ve found a rhythm that works pretty well for me.  I’ll play an MMO for a month (usually not more), then jump into a single player game (or two) for another month until the urge to play yet another MMO strikes me, and then the cycle repeats.

My one-trick pony board game collection

Board games – This has become a secondary hobby of mine, and it’s something I very much enjoy.  Again I’m a sucker for dungeon crawlers, so that’s where I spend most of my time.  Anything with a dungeon/fantasy theme is fair game to me. The amount of free time I have doesn’t allow for much in the way of gaming outside of my family, but I do manage to get in the occasional game with some of my friends.  I’ve even been known to play some of these games solo.  Again, that old dog new trick thing.

Battling duck-like dragons once upon a time, ca. 1979 (Adventure, Atari 2600)

Gaming memories – As I intend this blog to be something I can share with my son when he gets a bit older, I’m going to document some of my gaming memories here.  Exciting, I know.  I’m an older gamer—as far as the current crop of gamer goes—so, I’ve got a few memories stored up over the years.  It’ll be therapeutic for me.

Parental gaming – As I have a young son who seems to be turning into a  gamer, which is something I’m very excited about, I’ll probably be discussing gaming related issues from a parent’s point of view.

Game related books – My job is connected in some ways to the publishing industry.  I like to keep up with what’s out there (and what’s coming out) in this field.

Game related podcasts – My real world job requires me to be chained to a desk for 8 hours a day.  During that time I’m not required to communicate much with the outside world.  So I tend to listen to podcasts while doing my work.

What topics you probably won’t see discussed here:

In depth game analysis and theory crafting – Sorry, I’m just not wired that way.  Gosh, I would have to say almost anything in depth won’t be found on this blog.  Feel free to look elsewhere.

The current hotness – I’m usually a bit behind on new game releases and even though I often follow them, I don’t usually play them at release.  I’ve generally got older games I’m working through at the time and I’m generally in no hurry.

Posted on May 4, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Board Games! I wanted to get into table-top gaming again. But my friends aren’t that geeky. When I have kids one day, I’ll start them off with board games.

  2. Omg I LOVE your stack of board games! Haha I have the same problem as Skron said above… my friends just aren’t into them like I am. I do have my hubby, but he still prefers his computer games. I can’t wait till my son is old enough to play games. He is only 7mo, so awhile to go yet.

  3. Randolph Carter

    Ah, that’s one of the many ironies of getting older. When I was younger and had all the time in the world and the friends to play these games with, we couldn’t afford them. Now, acquiring the games isn’t the problem. It’s finding the time and the people to play them with. But it’s been a lot of fun (so far) slowly exposing my son to the world of board games. If he does continue to enjoy them as he gets older, he won’t have a shortage of games to choose from or someone (my wife and I) to play them with.

    Thank you both for the comments.

  4. I was eyeing your name at the top of these posts, wondering if it was you. I’m so glad that you caught the blogging bug. All great work so far, but I’m not terribly surprised about that. 🙂

    • Randolph Carter

      Thank you for stopping by and for the kind words, Anjin. I’m looking forward to posting more. Let’s see how many minds I can numb.

Leave a Reply

